Tags

, , , , ,

Tonight was rather frustrating for me. It goes with the theme of life the past few weeks… everything seemingly falling apart around me and I’m not really sure what the right next step is.

When I got home from picking up the kids, I had to shovel the driveway and then came in and saw my curtain rod fell out of the wall. To say I was annoyed is an understatement. It’s moments like these that are defining for me. Am I going to let it get me down and complain that now I have to figure this out too, or am I just gonna face it and figure it out.

I chose both… 

I went down the grab my tools and found my grandpa’s old drill and I prayed it wouldn’t catch fire when I used it 😂, grabbed a screw driver, my level and got to work. Mind you I have no idea what I’m doing… I just figure it out along the way. 

15 minutes later it’s all fixed – hanging securely in a stud.

After I cleaned up my mess I started singing Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus – and I just stopped.

This mundane household fix reminded me that I’m gonna be ok. I will get knocked down by life – I will feel like I can’t hold on anymore and will fall from the weight of what I’m trying to carry as I dangle from an unsecured space. 

My curtain rod was being held up by the other side and didn’t completely crash. When I fall – I don’t completely crash even though it feels like it. I’m actually falling into the arms of Jesus. He is always ready to catch me when I just can’t hold on anymore. He fixes me. He securely attaches me right where I belong so I can keep doing my job – just like my curtain rod holder.