Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

So, I just posted this on my FB page, but figured more than just “my friends” might need to hear this… So, here goes…

There are times when you just feel like life is falling apart and if one more thing lands anywhere in your vacinity, you are going to lose it. Christmas is always a stressful time. Missing loved ones that have passed, mourning relationships that have crumbled, stressing over the lack of funds in the checking account – while trying to figure out how you are going to make it through another month…yeah, it sucks. But I was reminded tonight, while tucking in my kids, that no matter how deep or wide the valley is that you are walking through… how dark the storm seems… God’s got this. I, Heather, will walk without fear because God’s got this. He has carried me through this and much worse so how can I doubt? All I can do now is just give it up, pray, and know that in His timing it will all work out.

Psalm 17:6-7 says, “I am praying to you because I know you will answer, O God. Bend down and listen as I pray. Show me your unfailing love in wonderful ways. By your mighty power you reduce those who seek refuge from their enemies.” We have a Father in heaven that loves us so unconditionally. All we have to do is fall on our knees and pray. He never promised that life would be easy. He never said “Follow me and I will make your life perfect.” No, we are still going to face trouble and trials and adversity… and it’s in those times that our faith is tested. It’s in those times where we get to truly see where our heart is. Is it (your heart) in the overwhelming day to day of this earthly life (which I must admit – I am there some days) or is it in the hands of our loving and gracious Father that has already overcome all these heartaches?

Psalm 22 1-2 “My God, my God, why have you abandoned me? Why are you so far away when I groan for help? Every day I call to you, my God, but you do not answer. Every night you hear my voice, but I find no relief.” Even David suffered and questioned where God was, and urgently appealed to him to take away his suffering. David knew to trust God in the good, lonely, and desperate times. He knew that even though God was quiet, He WAS and IS listening. So, the good news is, through all the crap that we face in this life we will gain victory on the other side, and for THAT I cannot wait, and I will continue to endure the heartache of this world.

So, if you are still with me (my mind and fingers just won’t stop), I will leave you with the passage that started it all tonight which is Psalm 23…I’m sure you all know this passage so I’m only going to quote vs 4 “Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.” God will comfort me… He will protect me… and I just have to to let him. Will you? Will you allow God to comfort and protect you through all the crap that is thrown at you. We have an all powerful enemy that wants nothing more than to see us squirm and fail. So when you feel like there is no one else… just reach out…reach out to the one who loves you more than you can fathom. Trust that God will catch you even in those deep, dark, ugly places where you feel you can’t be touched. Trust me I have those places… My kids have seen them, my husband has seen them… it’s not pretty… but God loves me despite of my short-comings and dark places… He still loves me…and He is just waiting for you too.

Psalm 34:8 “Taste and see that the Lord is good. Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in Him.”